About us & History

Evolution of Vision
In the face of the challenges of information, science and technology and globalization posed in the new century, the Center, by adhering to the school motto of "Absorb the new to look far ahead, and work pragmatically” and pursuing the vision of "holistic education, innovation in science and technology, and academic excellence," plans general education courses to keep pace with the world's top universities, with the aim of cultivating a new generation of elite leaders through forward-looking and diversified all-around education," "exploring new knowledge of civilization by integrating knowledge and energy," "solving challenges faced by human beings through breakthrough in innovative scientific research and development."

On June 1, 1958, National Chiao Tung University (NCTU) established the institute of electronics engineering and officially resumed its operation in Hsinchu. In June 1964, the Ministry of Education allowed NCTU to set up the department of electrophysics and the department of electronics engineering and to participate in the Joint College Entrance Examination, marking the beginning of NCTU undergraduate education. Up to the 2007 academic year, there were 20 departments in eight colleges with over 5,000 undergraduate students. In order to implement general education, the university set up a division of general education under the academic affairs office, in which the director of academic affairs served as the division head and planned and offered relevant courses. The general subjects included Chinese (6 credits), English (6 credits), History (4 credits) and Sun Yat-sen Thought (4 credits), with each having its own instruction section. In the academic year of 1985, by observing the Ministry of Education regulations, general education courses were added to the general subjects, and a general education curriculum instruction section was set up to plan and run general education courses at the university, worth 6-8 credits

In the 1996 academic year, in order to conform to the trend of university autonomy, the university took the lead in adjusting and implementing a new general education curriculum structure by combining all originally required credits and courses of Chinese (6 credits), History (4 credits), Sun Yat-sen Thought (4 credits), and general education courses (8 credits) under the general subjects into the general education curriculum with 22 credits. In August 1998, the Center for General Education and the Language Teaching and Research Center were set up under the Office of Academic Affairs to further divide the relevant courses. The Center for General Education is responsible for the planning of general education courses school-wide, while re-developing the regulations on elective general education courses. The new vision of the regulations (excluding foreign language courses) divides the curriculum into three major areas: humanities and arts, social sciences and natural sciences. According to the features of each NCTU department, two curriculum regulations are formulated for the College of Humanities and Social Sciences and the College of Hakka Studies (founded in 2004) and other colleges (including the College of Science, the College of Engineering, the College of Management, the College of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the College of Computer Science, and the College of Biological Science and Technology). This newly planned curriculum structure has gradually become a new mode of general education curriculum implemented in universities and colleges across the country.

In August 2004, the university established the committee of general education as a college-level unit, with the Center for General Education subordinate to the committee to jointly promote the reform of general education. By 2007, the general education curriculum structure was updated to implement the contemporary world and five dimensional three-stage general education curriculum structure, and improve university students’ holistic education and lifelong-learning ability.

In 2017, the college-level general education center was reorganized. The former committee of general education was expanded to the General Education Committee, with the general education center as the only academic unit under the committee. In the same year, after the curriculum reform by the General Education Committee, the 2017 academic year saw the implementation of the new general education curriculum system. The school-wide general education curriculum is divided into three categories: core, inter-college and university-level essential competencies. Under this new framework, the Center for General Education is responsible for planning and offering core general education courses.

At present, the Center for General Education employs 12 full-time teachers and two administrative staff members. The facility’s resources include a library, multimedia classroom, flipped classroom, multiple discussion rooms and laboratories to provide diverse teaching and ensure a high-quality education environment.

Successive directors of the Center for General Education:
  Name Tenure period
1 Hai-yun Chan Feb 1, 1999 – Jul 31, 2001
2 Yung-liang Yang Aug 1, 2001 – Jul 31, 2005
3 Hsiung-shan Tsai Aug 1, 2005 – Jul 31, 2009
4 Mei-ling Huang Aug 1, 2009 to Jul 31, 2013
5 Han-chang Huang Aug 1, 2013 to Jan 31, 2015
6 Ming-chang Chen Feb 1, 2015 to Jul 31, 2016
7 Jen-heng Chen Aug 1, 2016 to Jul 31, 2019
8 Wei-An Chang Aug 1, 2019 to Jul 31, 2021
9 Yong-Sheng Chen  Aug 1, 2021 to Jan 31, 2022
10 I-Ping Chen  Feb 1, 2022 to Jan 31, 2023
9 Cheng-Kuang Hu Feb 1, 2023 to today